Leaving…

…Florida to get to Georgia, all for the sake of Faire. 

This upcoming weekend, I head to Georgia for the opening weekend of the Georgia Renaissance Festival. And, this year, I’ll have more than my usual companions to meet that front gate with me. Aside from the French Musketeers, some musicians, the Royal Navigator and the Captain of the Guard, there’s someone new to pass through that gate at my side.

My little sister will be joining me. And, hopefully, she’ll start learning how to be a decent pirate at the faire.

She’s turning 14, so there’s always a chance for drama; I sincerely hope she’s too excited at the chance to go sans parents on a road trip that lasts for a full weekend, that she won’t act up. That would be the best case scenario. But, there is one little snag:

She doesn’t know how to dress pirate.

Up until recently, she wore one of the Wal-Mart variety costumes that was more suited for a princess than a pirate. It gave me the heebie jeebies. I loved the colors, but there wasn’t any validity to it and, honestly, I felt embarrassed that my own sister would violate the dress-code-awesomeness that I subscribe to.

But now, she’s older. That little costume doesn’t fit her any more. And, I have the chance to dress her right! I don’t care if she’s a pirate or a pauper or a peddler. I just want her to look a bit more awesome than she did the last few years. For, in Rennie culture, this is an amazing opportunity. I get to help her pick out her style and look for the Faire. I feel privileged! I’m able to make sure she doesn’t make the same mistakes I did when I was her age.

So, as a big sister, I’m in heaven that she and I have this weekend to bond. I’m sure she’ll pull some teenage shenanigans, and I’m sure there’ll be at least one little row, but all in all it’s going to be a blast.

I am kinda hoping she picks pirate for her new look. That means I can give her all the hand-me-down weapons that I’ve grown out of!

Categories: Entertainment | Tags: , , , , ,

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

