The Differences…

…between wearing a skirt and wearing leggings.

I have several pirate outfits. Only two of them involve a skirt. The rest are based on leggings. Now, when I say I have several, what I mean is that I have several each of tops and bottoms that can be mixed and matched to create upwards of a dozen different styles of the same outfit.

I own, to date:

  • 2 Pairs of Leggings
  • 1 Skirt
  • 4 Chemises
  • 3 Bodices / Corsets
  • 1 Pair of Boots
  • 1 Pair of Rope Sandals
  • 1 Hat
  • 2 Belts
  • 3 Pouches
  • 4 Sashes
  • 1 Leather Halter Top

So, since I’m not a math-major nor ever will be, I’ll let you figure out how many combinations I can make with those. To some, it may seem extreme. Others may think I’m a clothing lightweight. Perspectives. However, when it comes down to it, everything put together makes a pretty sweet outfit, and I have been known to wear both pairs of leggings with the skirt during the Florida winter. I have the blue outfits and the green outfits, and haven’t branched out beyond those two colors. And, this list doesn’t include all of the heirloom jewelry I’ve got which matches oh-so-nicely, too.

But, and this I’ve noticed, the most pivotal difference isn’t the bodice or the jewelry; it’s the skirt or lack thereof. When I wear leggings with no skirt, men tend to grab my butt. If I wear the skirt with bare skin underneath and show a little leg, the temperature is hotter than Hades, and men whistle from afar. When I layer the skirt over my leggings, showing “leg” as I would without the leggings, men tend to ignore me altogether.

Huh?

Yeah, ignored. Relatively. I mean, I still have a skintight corset on with rather large tracks of land, so the attention perhaps moves upwards? I don’t get it. If they can see every curve, they want to grab at every curve. If they can see bare skin, they find it attractive. But if they don’t get either they tend to focus on different aspects of my figure.

Hmm. Well, I can’t even begin to explain that, but it is something I’ve noticed.

As for why I wear the different styles: comfort. If it’s cold, I’m going to layer as much as I can to stay warm. If it’s hot, I’m taking as much off as I can. If I’ve gained a few pounds, I’m wearing the skirt. If I’ve lost a few, I’m wearing leggings. My rationale is not that hard to understand! Another reason is safety. If I’m on a ship or uneven terrain, the skirt stays in the closet. I don’t like tripping over myself. I don’t really know anyone who does.

If you really want to get into the pirate dress code, go ahead and splurge a little. You’re better off getting good materials that last for a long while rather than having to buy new outfits every year. Example? My skirt is almost 15 years old. 100% cotton, hand-dyed blue, and it has gone through some incredible times. So, that $75 I spent 15 years ago has more than paid for itself.

Categories: Clothes | Tags: , , , ,

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

