Getting Ready…

…takes a while. 

Now, don’t get me wrong. I can jump out of bed and be ready for work in twenty minutes. But getting ready to perform or sing or just be a pirate, that takes considerably longer. I can explain.

During the work week, I wear business casual save for Fridays which are fully casual. So, I get up, put my hair in a ponytail (I prefer showering at night, thank you) and pull on trousers and a blouse. I don’t put on makeup usually because I just don’t like it. I wear it occasionally, but prefer not to during the week. Fridays are the easiest. Jeans, tee shirt and sneakers, ponytail and off I go.

Breakfast? That usually happens at night, too. I can never get enough Denny’s or Cracker Barrel. You can keep IHOP. Not my gig.

Weekends are totally different and they start on Friday night. I rush home from work, jump in the shower, make some curls in my hair and put on makeup. Then comes the clothes. Depending on the night, I’m wearing two to five layers of clothes. My order is thus:

  1. Ladies undergarments (bra is only worn if I wear the two-piece outfit, otherwise it goes out the window)
  2. Ankle socks and leggings
  3. Second pair of leggings, if its colder (and I mean below 65*F – yes I am that much of a sissy)
  4. Skirt (depending on my mood)
  5. Beige long sleeved tee (again, only if it’s cold)
  6. Chemise or tunic
  7. Second pair of socks (those thick fuzzy ones you get at Target ♥ )
  8. Boots
  9. Jewelry
  10. Corset
  11. Waist Scarf
  12. Belt with accouterments
  13. Baldric and sword
  14. Hat

And voila! I’m dressed. Now I just have to get in the car and make it downtown before the show starts. Which, really can’t happen since I’m a one-woman show. Best part of all this: I rock out while I get dressed. Lately it’s Kelly Clarkson or the Black Eyed Peas. Maybe some Tim McGraw or George Thorogood.  The whole process takes about an hour to an hour-and-a-half. Not bad considering the dressing part is kinda complicated. Lacing up the corset takes a bit of work.

So, next time you see a lady-pirate who looks well put together, just remember it’s because she spent a decent amount of time getting her gear on.

Basically, I go from this:                                                              To This:

Categories: Clothes, Entertainment | Tags: , , , ,

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

